Talk

Advanced search

I've been out of work for almost four years and no one calls me for an interview after months of looking for a job

(12 Posts)
asianmum Mon 12-Sep-11 14:45:33

I just joined this site and I don't know where to start. Forgive me if I'm a bit confusing.

I've been looking for a job since January this year but no one ever calls me for an interview except for two recruitment agencies (just for registration and didnt call me again). I am looking for all sorts of jobs part time, full time, contractual and even volunteering.

Is it really this hard to look for a job after having a career break due to choosing to be a SAHM? I am an accountant in profession but I gained my qualifications from other country and that might be one of the factors why I can't get a job. I am even applying for lower level positions though I was quite senior in my last job.

Why I want to go back to work is not fully due to financial reasons. My husband is earning quite well. His salary is just enough. But there's something missing, I feel depressed at times and I seemed to have a very low self esteem at the moment. I often feel that I am useless and wasted because I don't have a career like my former colleagues and classmates. I know it's wrong to feel this way but after so many years of studying, I'm stuck in the house doing the same thing almost everyday. I can't see any fulfillment sometimes though I love my kids so much.

My youngest son is already 18 months old and its probably ok for me to look for a job, right? Another thing is I am not really that sociable and we just moved house so I really feel lonely at the moment. I think a job will help me be myself again. I'll be happier and be a better mum if I'll develop that self confidence again.

annh Mon 12-Sep-11 16:01:53