Talk

Advanced search

Career versus family life

(6 Posts)
forevermore Wed 31-Aug-11 02:10:51

I hbe a dilemma. I have been back to work fir a year now and have been asked to take on a new high profile project next year. I was asked to start one early thus year but said I couldn't as my children are still very young and demanding and I didn't thinking could deliver. Just as well because we had norovirus type bugs all winter and I had to take a lot of time off. Now I am already thinking that it's still tok soon and would hbe to bring this up sooner or later. Do I stay in my current position which I am still learning loads but know the worstbit can throw and me. Or step into the unknown which will potentially boost my career but may throw me up in the air as I will have lots to learn and MAY have longer hours - or I may take to new role like a duck to water / prefer the scope of the work AND boost my career. My current position can be challenging but I have kind if gotten into a routine and learnt hoe to ride the waves as they come and I guess I am scared that I could sink if I try a different course. I am the only one at work with children out of the women and young ones to boot so can't even relate to hoe others have handled the challenge in the past. I also have just negotiated great flexible working and just not sure if this will work in new role. But again it might and I may be in a flap about nothing. But too scared to take the chance. My colleagues think I am mad to be padding up these opportunities. But again they havent been in my shoes and I find it hard to explai that just keeping my role going( full time post-doctoral scientist) with a 2 &6 year old and actually seeing an enjoying my children (spending quality time) is a major achievement for me and may just be enough - and I'm not just bring lazy/unambitioussad

Honest opinions pls.

forevermore Wed 31-Aug-11 02:13:03

Sorry for spelling mistakesblush

chutneypig Wed 31-Aug-11 06:59:57