Talk

Advanced search

OMG I've got an interview not had one in over 20 year... HELP !!!!!

(10 Posts)
whoknowswho Wed 29-Jun-11 12:28:36

That says it all basically. Applied for a job at a local high school in the office. I've not worked for 6 years after having DC2 and now really want to get back into it. I had quite a high powered demanding job before but really don't want to go back to that sector (or level of stress) so thought office of a high school would be perfect and term time only (just about) so suit my childcare needs. But am sooooo nervous - i'll probably fall to pieces and they'll think i'm a blithering idiot.... anybody got any good advice?

iMemoo Wed 29-Jun-11 12:30:12

I worked in a school office and during my interview they asked me to type a letter to parents. So brush up on your letter writing skills.

FranSanDisco Wed 29-Jun-11 12:37:46

Ok, I just had an interview yesterday in a school for a TA role. Although you are going for an office role they will probably ask you about divulging information and the such like to all and sundry. Of course anyone with half a brain wouldn't reveal all to anyone who asks but there you go. They may also ask you about how you bwould handle child protection issues should a child confide something to you and ask you not to tell which of course you HAVE to tell. There appears to be pretty standard type questions asked in this LA as I have been asked these questions a few times.

I keep calm by convincing myself I don't actually want the job. I got a call this morning saying I got it grin so good luck to you, fingers crossed smile.

whoknowswho Wed 29-Jun-11 12:46:15