Talk

Advanced search

How many hours do you and your partner work if you have school age kids

(26 Posts)
cathysten Fri 24-Jun-11 13:47:39

I am trying to make decisions about work, and I'm interested to know how many hours you and your partner work as a couple. We have 2 DS, age 4 and 6. I have been mainly SAHM, now working very part-time. DH has a full-on and farily well paid job doing a minimum 40 hours week and a certain amount of travelling. He is not keen on the idea of reducing his hours, but has said that he would do if it meant I could do something that I really wanted to.
I have recently read that in Holland government policy aims to encourage partners to both work around 0.6 of full-time - which I reckon would mean about 50 hours between them.
I'm just interested to get an idea of how many hours couples are working - I don't know many families where both parents are working full-time (probably because they're always busy at work!) and I'm struggling to see how it could work....

CMOTdibbler Fri 24-Jun-11 14:56:33

We work contracted 80 hours plus travelling between us

gourd Fri 24-Jun-11 15:10:51

We both work full time and approximately the same number or hours. We also both commute to/from work for about the same amount of time. Between us it's 76 hours work per week, plus 20-30 hours commuting. Or, 38 hours work each, plus 10-15 hours commuting each.

EssentialFattyAcid Fri 24-Jun-11 15:30:19

In 2007 21% of children lived with parents who both worked full time and 40% lived with parents one of whom worked full time and one part time.
Source:
http://www.resolutionfoundation.org/media/media/downloads/Chilcare_Report_June_2011.pdf

fatandknackered Fri 24-Jun-11 15:34:16

Dh works full-time (approx 38 hr week) and I work 80% contract (30 hr week) - both of us have occasional travel/evening events so we juggle a lot between us and couldn't live without nursery and MIL. Imo, once you are used to it, it's fine.

Good luck and hope you work things out in the way you want!

MovingAndScared Sat 25-Jun-11 10:49:09

I think with school age - one full time and one nearly full time eg 30 hours is very doable - ie you could do one or more school pickups - which they enjoy - and the other things is very useful is a certain amount of flexibiltiy -just because its nice to go to some of the kids things like asembablies/sports day (sp_
-if your DH and his work could agree that - and my DH did a school drop off once a week - instead of cutting his hours -this makes it much more doablefor you working
you need some kind of child care -but both after school and holiday clubs and childminders are all avaiable and work well for many people
and also 30 hours a week is probably easier to get then less hours as you could apply for full time and possibly negociate down
good luck

Wilts Sat 25-Jun-11 10:55:30

We both work full time (37hrs) but I have a commute as well so about another 1.5hrs a day on top.

I am trying to reduce my hours to 30, but my request is highly likely to be turned down. Fortunately our jobs are quite flexible so we can manage to get to school plays etc.

JemimaMop Sat 25-Jun-11 11:03:28

DH works 45 hours a week. I work 25 hours a week, but term time only.

crazycarol Sun 26-Jun-11 20:17:50

Dh works 35 hrs, I worked 22 hrs after maternity leave but have recently gone FT (37 hrs) as dd now at secondary school.

Hulababy Sun 26-Jun-11 20:21:02

Dh works approx 8:30am to 6pm and had 6 weeks holiday. Once a week he works later and collects DD from an activity. He takes DD to school every day else would start earlier. He'd work later if he could but we like to eat together at home so has learnt to work more efficiently over the past few years. He's a solicitor, equity parter at a reasonable sized local firm.

I am a TA these days. I was a teacher when DD was younger but found the workload and stresses not family friendly enough at times. So now I work 20 hours, 4 hours each morning, tem time only. A lot less money but better home life balance.

said Sun 26-Jun-11 20:22:45

Both full-time during school time.

OddBoots Sun 26-Jun-11 20:25:36

DH works 40h+ a week, I work 16h+ a week (term time) and study 16h a week with the OU. I feel very lucky as it is perfect for us.

ggirl Sun 26-Jun-11 20:27:36

dh works 10-12 hr days /5days a week, own business so does a lot of those hrs very early and can still pick ds up or start later and take to school
I work 22.5 hrs -3 shifts/week

I think the dutch idea sounds excellent ..I would like to work more hrs but dh not able to help out any more with ds. And it wouldn't work with your own business , unless you were in it both together.

DH works 36hrs (with a 3 hour round commute) and I work 12 (at the moment evenings and weekends, but probably changing soon) so 48 in total. It's very easy to fit things in although financially not so great. I really need to try and work more but am hampered by having no car and the dearth of term-time/part-time work.

ruddynorah Sun 26-Jun-11 20:31:54

dh full time 35 hours. home by 3pm every day.
me part time 23 hours. start work at 5pm.

basingstoke Sun 26-Jun-11 20:32:50

I leave home at 7.15 and pick kids up from after school club at around 5ish. I also work about 2 hours after kids in bed. DH drops DC off at 8.45 and works 9ish to 6.30 ish. He usually does another hour or so in the evening too.

HarrietJones Sun 26-Jun-11 20:35:05

Dh works about 25-30 hours ( 2 flexible jobs) and I work 18.5, we have 2 at school & a baby.

aquos Sun 26-Jun-11 20:40:57

My dh works shifts, 40 hrs a week. In September I will be going back to work after being a SAHM for many years. My dcs are now 10 & 11. I will be doing a 35 hour week, plus working from home for another 5 hours a week. The working from home hours are so I can be home after school on the afternoons dh can't be. I am worried about how it will work out. Dh has been used to having no childcare or household responsibilities and I'm expecting him to take a 50% share from September. Hmmm, we'll see.

squiby2004 Wed 29-Jun-11 20:54:19

DH works 50+ hours a week plus commute - investment banking. I am a full time primary school teacher so term time only for me. Only bugger is DD is in independent school so has much longer holidays than I do.

Mowlem Wed 29-Jun-11 21:07:06

My DH works full time at 35 hours a week.

I work part time (in education) so I'm at work 25 hours a week but I do have preparation and planning to do in the evenings when DH is home / in charge. The flip side of that is that I have the holidays with my DC.

My children (from Sept) will each have 2.5 hours of childcare a week in the form of breakfast club at school.

It works pretty perfectly for us and allows plenty of family time. We're just 10 hours over the Dutch ideal, so maybe there's something in it?

Downsides of it - we're not rich grin

crumplebutton Wed 29-Jun-11 21:16:38

Is 35 hours really full time? My DH works at least 80 hours a week, not sure if that makes him a mug or a superhero!

JemimaMop Thu 30-Jun-11 07:29:10

I suppose 9-5 Mon-Fri is 35 hours a week (assuming an hour for lunch). I don't know that many people who work those hours though.

RickGhastley Thu 30-Jun-11 07:56:53

DH leaves the house at 07.45am and is back around 6.45/7pm every day.

I work 3 days a week and leave DS at nursery from 8-6pm on those days, will be at shool plus breakfast and afterschool club on those days from Sept.

DH and I have 45-60min commute each way (London) which really adds to our "working hours"!

eandh Thu 30-Jun-11 08:02:32

DH works 50+ hours a week (contracted for 40 but as driving is the main part of his job he ends up doing 10+hours overtime a week) however he leaves at 4am and is home by 4pm most days. I work 2 days a week (16hours) but dd1 is at school (will be year 2 in Sept) and DD2 starts reception in Sept so have said that in term time I am happy to provide lunch cover (there are 3 branches of the bank I work for very locally so normally need lunch cover at one of them to cover training, holidays etc) on my days off (tues,weds,thurs) which is 10-2 and fits in with school however this will be on a 'as and when' basis that fits me and them. Have realised I am going to be very bored having 3 days a week off with no children about (I cant work more dyas permantley as my Mum/MIL do childcare for me before and after school and holidays but they both work tues,weds and thurs)

fivegomadindorset Thu 30-Jun-11 08:06:31

I am applying for a full time job, currently work 2 full days and some odd hours. DH runs our B&B business.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now