Talk

Advanced search

Do I need a law degree to teach law?

(7 Posts)
fatfingers Fri 10-Jun-11 18:47:34

My career was in criminal justice until last year when I moved into education. My degree is in Criminal Justice (which includes a law module). The school I am working in is looking for a law teacher (GCSE and A Level). I will be on maternity leave next academic year but I would like to put myself forward for this job when I return if I could get a GTP place. Would this even be a possibility given that my degree is not actually in Law or will I have to do a conversion course?

DaisySteiner Fri 10-Jun-11 18:51:59

Not a teacher, but my dad is and I know he taught Psychology A Level despite not having a degree in this (or anything like it actually!)

LCarbury Fri 10-Jun-11 22:49:50

I always thought that to teach A level you needed an A level or higher. I'm sure your law module could carry equal weight with an A level, especially as you have the rest of the degree with it. Apply, good luck!

fatfingers Sat 11-Jun-11 07:16:54

Thanks both. I will raise the issue at school next week then grin. There is a possibility I could do a Law conversion course next year while I am on ML but seems a lot of money to spend if it isn't necessary. I am also unsure whether I will get on a GTP course to teach Law with the degree I have - I guess I will ring them up on Monday and ask.

sassyTHEFIRST Sat 11-Jun-11 07:25:42

My degree is American Studies; I have aaiainly PGCE in English and have taught it for 12 years. In my dept there is another American Studies graduate, a couple with Creative Arts types, a Creative writing graduate etc. You get the picture.

It would certainly be worth approaching your school. Be warned though, GTP places are few and far between.

fatfingers Sun 12-Jun-11 14:44:42