Talk

Advanced search

Solicitors out there returning to work after maternity leave

(19 Posts)
vanillacinamon Thu 24-Mar-11 11:15:38

Curious to know if you are solicitor returning to work after maternity leave how many have managed to get 4 days per week or even (holy grail!) 3 days per week or are you all back at work on 5 days per week.

Do you have regular hours or have you employed a nanny so you can work "solicitor" hours.

I am not making any judgements here literally and simply curious to know what any female solicitors have managed to negotiate on return from maternity, no need to give the name of the firm/ inhouse (unless you want to), just your return to work package?

csla Thu 24-Mar-11 19:15:02

Hi,

Im due back shortly. Im a junior lawyer in com prop in a large regional firm and have agreed 4 days per week. A colleague has been back for a while doing the same and she manages to do decent hours (ie 9-5/6) the vast majority of the time. I discussed in my flexible working meeting that I'd need to leave on time most days but would be flexible where I can. I think you have to be upfront and quite strict with what you can do. I do think however that the fact we're in property helps with this and other departments might be harder.

cbmum Thu 24-Mar-11 22:11:14

I returned to work after DD1 on 3 days per week (tues/wed/fri) and it worked really well as I was never away for 2 working days in a row. I found the key was to be upfront with clients about when you are in the office and if they are a big deal client then at times let them contact you on your off days.

I'm on my second maternity leave, due back in August and have no plans to change my arrangements. I will probably go up to 4 days when my youngest is at school but have no
Plans to work 5 days!