Talk

Advanced search

MBA - anyone done one?

(3 Posts)
emma123456 Sun 09-Jan-11 10:11:19

Was made redundant in November, looking at moving overseas with Dh's job to a place where it would be very difficult for me to work. Thinking maybe of studying for an MBA to keep me busy rather than let my mind rot for the next 2/3 years. I'd probably do it over 3 years via distance learning

Anyone done one, how hard was it, what sort of time commitment would be required, any advice on which one? Have employers shown any interest in the qualification? Im a Chartered Accountant anyway, would it help my CV?

Many thanks

herhonesty Sun 09-Jan-11 18:48:00

hello.
i dont think it makes a massive difference to your cv unless you go to one of the top business schools. I did mine distant learning and its very tough to motivate yourself (and possibly more so if you are not int he work discipline iykwim? . but it can be done and is deeply interesting, if you are CA you'll probably have covered a lot of the financial stuff (hurray) but the management accountant and fianancial strategy stuff might bring a new angle to your accountant qualification.

gingerwench Sun 09-Jan-11 20:46:52

Yes I did one. Paid for by my company. Distance Learning at an organisation that was highly rated at the time but possibly less so now.

I did it to compensate from not having a business/finance undergrad degree (working in finance) so wanted to demonstrate I could still understand and apply concepts. It was tough, since the course demanded that I apply the learning to assignments based on issues in my organisation, and whilst I received financial support not one of my managers showed any real interest in what I was doing.