Talk

Advanced search

Any1 been successful in asking work for reduced working hours? How did u do it ? pls help xx

(15 Posts)
louloupoo Wed 03-Nov-10 20:23:50

I'm currently on mat leave and due back in March. As much as I do want to go back I'd love to not work full time and I'm planning on asking if I can reduce from a 5 day week to a 4.

I work as a store manager so I know that I will have to work fridays and saturdays as these are our busiest days. Also Mondays are our 'paperwork days' so I'm fine with that too. And as it happens my mum is off work Mon and Tues so she is willing to look after my DS those 2 days. So in effect I'm wanting to work mon, tues, fri and sat.

In the time I've been on leave my boss has not been able to find cover, instead leaving my deputy to run the store with cover 2 days a week from a neighbouring store. Do you think the fact that the store has continued in this way will help my request?

And when should I send the letter in? Any pointers on how to word it too to try and quash any comeback they may have for saying no? I've heard it can be very difficult to get employers to agree to reduced days so I'm hoping to go in one step ahead.

Sorry for rambling on, its a real concern for me.

Thanks in advance xx

chanie44 Wed 03-Nov-10 20:51:06

Even though your employer has managed, they may not regard it as a long term solution, especially as they have been unable to fill your role.

In terms of your request, you need to show your employer how the business won't suffer. You could say that your Deupty covering is good experience for them. But if the Deputy can't/won't step up, then it could be problematic.

I normally tell people where I work (I'm in HR) to open dialogue regarding flexible working as early as possible so that if the original request can't be accepted, then there is time to consider other options. But you could always follow the statutory procedure, which is quite tight.

louloupoo Thu 04-Nov-10 20:31:18