Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Abnormal smear results

(11 Posts)
Lucymoo Fri 08-Jul-05 20:58:01

I have had abnormal smear results called mild dyskaryosis and i have to have another smear done in 6 months.The trouble is now i have found out that im pregnant and really scared,panicking,convinced ive got cancer!Can i still have a smear taken whilst pregnant?

Milliways Fri 08-Jul-05 21:31:57

<<Hugs>>

Sorry, I have no knowledge of this, just bumping it up for you. I'm sure your doctor can reassure you. Surely if there was a real risk you wouldn't have to wait 6 months?

A friend of mine had an abnormal smear & was called in for urgent treatment. She is fine but now has 6 monthly checks just to keep everyone happy.

Congratulations on the pregnancy. Ask your midwife/doctor for more info. Good luck.

marthamoo Fri 08-Jul-05 21:36:24

There have been threads on this and I will try and find them in a minute.

First off...don't panic. I'm not familiar with the term 'dyskaryosis' but mild is reassuring. I had the most advanced level of abnormal cells at my first ever smear: CIN3 (I was 19). The doctor told me that this level of abnormality might...in around ten years develop into cervical cancer...so you really, truly, don't need to worry (you are not planning on being pregnant for the next ten years, I take it?)

You will be fine. I will look for the threads, bear with me.

Heathcliffscathy Fri 08-Jul-05 21:39:40

don't panic.. most of the time this resolves itself...and certainly wiould take years to develop into cancer....there is plenty plenty of time after your pregnancy to sort this out. please please don't worry.