Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Any quick tips for getting what I want at the GP's?

(14 Posts)
Flossam Mon 27-Jun-05 10:13:00

I know I am a nurse, but never had to be a bolshy (but polite) patient before - getting ready to go, so anyone able to help me?

Flossam Mon 27-Jun-05 10:17:18

No? He has tongue tie and I have decided to push for an op.

starlover Mon 27-Jun-05 10:18:21

cry.

Marina Mon 27-Jun-05 10:20:08

List of questions. Press them on why they don't want to opt for surgery. Insist on a referral to the surgeon anyway. Cry, as starlover says.
Make sure they know they are dealing with a fellow health professional!

nailpolish Mon 27-Jun-05 10:21:08

hi floss, if i were you i would write some things down, as there is nothing worse than leaving and then remembering some points you wanted to make

dont be nervous, you will be fine, you are doing it for your wee boy, which i think makes you stronger than if it was for yourself

let us know how you get on

WigWamBam Mon 27-Jun-05 10:21:37

Write everything down so that you don't forget what you want to say, and keep repeating it.

Insist on a referral, and if the GP won't refer you then ask to see another GP.

mears Mon 27-Jun-05 10:22:48

Don't be fobbed off! Be firm and clear, you want referred. Have you info on tongu-tie to take with you?

mears Mon 27-Jun-05 10:23:51

have you got this?

Pruni Mon 27-Jun-05 10:24:35

Message withdrawn

Lonelymum Mon 27-Jun-05 10:25:46

I find that if you speak authoritively and keep to your aim (getting a referral for an op) you usually get your way. Failing that, go to another GP.