Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

need reassurance ... little lump on side of neck ...

(14 Posts)
anotherbadnight Thu 27-Aug-09 14:02:55

I've had this little lump on the side of my neck (kinda straight down from ear lobe) for about 4 months, it moves up and down when you press on it. I'm also 10 weeks pregnant with number 3. I've seen the practice nurse had a blood test today for it but the results won't be back for over a week. I'm really, really worrying. Google is a terrible thing and all I can find are scary sites (never, ever google a symptom!). It hasn't grown or changed, I have been well. Any less scary thoughts? Please?!

tulpe Thu 27-Aug-09 14:05:28

Did the nurse give any indication/ideas about possible outcomes?

Could it be some kind of fatty cyst?

mishymoo Thu 27-Aug-09 14:06:12

I'm no expert but my DS (4) has had a lump on his neck that sounds exactly the same as yours, i.e. hasn't grown and moves around when pressed! 3 different doctors have all told me that it is a lymph node and nothing to worry about!

AttilaTheMeerkat Thu 27-Aug-09 16:55:56

It sounds to me like a raised lymph node. These fight infection, I have had two such raised nodes and have felt completely well in the meantime.

I would resist touching it and leave it well alone. I had this sort of thing for a couple of months and my blood test came back as normal. Please try not to unduly worry about it, you've done the right thing in having a blood test done.

bibbitybobbityhat Thu 27-Aug-09 17:18:06

I have a little lump on my neck just as you describe for about 30 years grin.

When my ds got one on the back of his neck aged 3ish I took him to the GP who said it was lymph node but offered to let us have blood tests at hospital (because, he said, "I know you'll just worry otherwise") - which we did, and all is fine. DS still has his. He's now 6.