Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

I got new specs on Saturday and I cant see out of them properly

(5 Posts)
ShosheTheGhoshe Mon 20-Oct-08 14:28:51

I got new specs from Vision Express, they are varifocals, (which I have been wearing for the last 4 years).

The prescription on my long sight had stayed the same, but gone up two points on my short.

When I look through the lenses, I cant 'see' where I should look through them IYKWIM.

It is if the short sight bit come up the lens to much and is blurry!

Is this normal, they are a smaller frame than my last ones, so the lens is obviously smaller.

soremummy Mon 20-Oct-08 14:33:42

They are

a: not adjusted properly and you're looking through wrong part of lens

b: too shallow a frame and this can also cause problems

c: might not have been checked and aren't right rx for you

d: mistake when testing results are written

Suggest you go back and get them checked hth.

chocolatemummy Mon 20-Oct-08 14:35:19

I have had this problem with the last couple of pairs I bought.
I have real concerns about alot of these highstreet 'opticians' because I am not sure they really know what they are doing/are trained properly.
I had one pair from specsavers which were awful and then I got a pair from Boots three months ago.They said my prescription (from specsavers) was totally wrong and it changed quite a bit and I got new glasses, however, they are not perfect either although def better than the others.
I am going to go to a good old indepednant optician next time because I think they are actual opticians rather than optical assistants. When I took my glasse back to specsavers and said I couldnt see they were far from understanding

coochybottom Mon 20-Oct-08 14:51:16