Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Can I drink with my anti biotics if they don't specifically say not to on the info sheet?

(13 Posts)
used2bthin Fri 22-Aug-08 20:49:07

I'm hoping so because I'll be on them for my birthday. I won't be going mad but would like to be able to have one or two if I fancy it. They are ciprofloxin, does anyone know about them?

LittleMyDancingForJoy Fri 22-Aug-08 20:50:35

I think you can unless specifically directed not to, but they might not work so well if you have a drink.

I'm no expert though.

used2bthin Fri 22-Aug-08 20:53:08

Thank you yes I bet thats it.I think the doctor only prescribed them to be on the safe side anyway. She gave me ten days worth but said I can stop after five if I feel ok so I will see how I feel.

ellideb Fri 22-Aug-08 20:56:01

I think certain antibiotics can make you violently ill if you take them and then drink alcohol, but I can't remember which one/s, it might be medazolane? Try googling just to be on the safe side.

AvenaLife Fri 22-Aug-08 20:56:04

Are they called Ciprofloxacin? If so then alcohol enhances the effect of the medication so it's probably best avoided.

used2bthin Fri 22-Aug-08 21:00:33

Googling is a good idea. Yes Avenalife thats the ones. I think I will avoid it on my actual birthday then(tuesday)then hopefully I can be off them by friday when I am meant to be going out for a few drinks. I have to have these ones or erythromycin which always make me feel dreadful, its because I'm allergic to penicillin its a bit of a pain.

SubRosa Fri 22-Aug-08 21:02:09

I had one very small glass of wine, when taking Ciprofloxacin, and puked violently for 3 hours. Even if you stop taking it today, it will be in your system for another couple of days. Just what you need to know on a Friday night

AvenaLife Fri 22-Aug-08 21:03:58