Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet hasn't checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have medical concerns, please seek medical attention; if you think your problem could be acute, do so immediately. Even qualified doctors can't diagnose over the internet, so do bear that in mind when seeking or giving advice.

How drowsy does Medised make your toddler?

(16 Posts)
mummylonglegs Sat 12-Feb-05 21:37:35

Sorry if I'm sounding neurotic here. I've been posting about dd's seemingly endless night time coughing and someone recommended Medised which I've never used before. Tonight I gave her 10ml (she's 2.4 and it said 5-10ml 3-4 times a day) before bed (haven't given her any during the day) and when I was settling her down her eyes were rolling in her sockets in a way I haven't seen since she was an exhausted newborn. Would that be the effects of the Medised? Or is it a sign that she's iller than I'm realising? She'd got no fever and is grumpy but generally ok in the day apart from this damned cough of hers.

HunkerMunker Sat 12-Feb-05 21:39:39

I'd say that's the effect of Medised - DS has it sometimes (he's 10 months old) and it makes him very very drowsy.

misdee Sat 12-Feb-05 21:41:32

dd2 reacts similarly, but then she is generally more tired when ill as well. gave her 10mls this evening as she has a rotton cold, am hoping it'll help her sleep through. she woke me up yesterday crying she was gonna be sick and asked for the bucket.

Aimsmum Sat 12-Feb-05 21:43:21

Message withdrawn

expatinscotland Sat 12-Feb-05 21:43:59

She won't take it. She'll boak it if we try to give it to her, but before she learned to make herself gag it knocked her right out.

misdee Sat 12-Feb-05 21:44:44

dd2 is sick on calpol, think its the colorings in it.

Evesmama Sat 12-Feb-05 21:45:31

only give dd 5ml(21 months) but shes falling asleep 1/2 - 1hr after taking it

WideWebWitch Sat 12-Feb-05 21:46:19