Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

I'm a novice runner - how long shall I aim to run for?

(9 Posts)
FeelingDeviant Tue 15-Jul-08 11:36:53

Have been really suffering from insomnia this past week so thought a run might help clear my mind before bedtime.

Never done any running before, so just wanted to know how long for a first time runner - 10 minutes? 30 minutes?

NomDePlume Tue 15-Jul-08 11:38:06

30mins solid running is VERY hard inded.

If you go to the Race For Life website there are a few running plans on there. 3 levels - beginner, medium & advanced.

NomDePlume Tue 15-Jul-08 11:38:38

It is likely to tak eyu weeks to build up to 30mins

NomDePlume Tue 15-Jul-08 11:39:54

sorry for typos

here is the webpage you need to download the PDF plans www.raceforlife.org/healthandtraining/training/

Nagapie Tue 15-Jul-08 11:40:15

10 minutes - walk 1 min, run 1 min, rest day, resume and after every second cycle add on another 2 mins to the time... (hope that makes sense)..

Exercise before bedtime - usually I can't get to sleep if I exercise late at night..

Sugarmagnolia Tue 15-Jul-08 13:12:20

Probably not a good idea to do it too close to bedtime as you are likely to feel quite energised for a while afterwards.

DrNortherner Tue 15-Jul-08 13:13:35

If you've never ran before you will strugle with 10 mins, let alone 30!

Walk 1 minute run 1 minute is a good plan to follow and steadily increase.

Good luck!

ib Tue 15-Jul-08 13:16:15

I started by running for 20 minutes, but interrupting to walk for 1 minute when I needed to (tried to always go longer than the previous day). Once I was on 20 minutes continuous I added 1 minute each time until I was at 30'.

FeelingDeviant Tue 15-Jul-08 13:16:59

Thanks for all the advice. Walking one minute and runnig one min sounds good.