Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

So sorry ... another nits question.....

(26 Posts)
Carla Sat 08-Jan-05 19:22:19

We zapped our two last week with Full Marks, which is supposed to kill both the eggs and the live things. I have also wet combed twice since then, but today we spotted a live thing in dd1's hair, plus loads of eggs. PLEASE PLEASE tell me where we're going wrong .....

happymerryberries Sat 08-Jan-05 19:26:51

From what I have read most treatment don't zap the eggs, they are tough little suckers!

Your dd might also have been reinfected! It is a pain isn't it?

Wet combing does work, and you can do it as often as you need. I know it can be a drag but it does work in the end.....trust me I am now a veteran of 3 battles with the little blighters

Potty1 Sat 08-Jan-05 19:28:45

You only have to miss one and if it lays you have to start over. I wet comb dd's hair every two to four days even if I know she hasn't got them, I have done since she started school. She's in Yr 6!!

Slinky Sat 08-Jan-05 19:29:54

I've used Full Marks in the past with my 2 DDs successfully - what I do afterwards is literally "wet-comb" every day, 2 x day for several weeks.

I've never needed to do a repeat treatment following the above.

triceratops Sat 08-Jan-05 19:33:43

I agree - wet combing is the only way. You have to get every last one and if another child at school still has them then you need to catch the lice that jump on before they manage to lay another batch.

Lonelymum Sat 08-Jan-05 19:41:49

You have to keep on combing every two or three days until you have absolutely nothing on the comb at all (lice or eggs). I believe it takes about two weeks. Yes it is a pain in the neck but it seems to be the only foolproof method.

HappyNewCardigan Sat 08-Jan-05 19:54:07