Talk

Advanced search

Scared of c diff - having a panic attack please help

(8 Posts)
OhWhatAPalaver Wed 13-May-20 20:53:47

I'm on my second lot of antibiotics for a wisdom tooth infection. I had metronidazole but they weren't very effective so I've started amoxicillin yesterday. I also had a course of amoxicillin in March for the same thing. I've been to loo a lot today and I am really scared of getting c diff. The tooth is feeling much better than it was, shall I just just stop taking them? I'm really worried I started the second course too soon. I finished the metronidazole on Sunday morning but wasn't sure if it'd been effective or not. I'm so worried and scared. I've got anxiety about antibiotics anyway as I had a resistant uti after a catheter once so I'm not good with them as it is, let alone while feeling sick and having diarrhoea. I also started my period today too. Can anyone advise? Feeling so crap.

OP’s posts: |
Literallyfedup Wed 13-May-20 21:10:19

Question is are you self medicating or the doctor prescribed you the antibiotics? If you have been prescribed by a doctor then please finish the course . Also antibiotic resistance happens because people do not take the complete course as prescribed. For some problems you need to take antibiotics for 6-9 months so taking them for long is no big deal.
As for your problem with the loo. Metronidazole is antibiotic for specific bacteria so does not affect your gut bacteria so most people does not get constipation or diarrhea with it but amoxicillin is broad spectrum so kills all bacteria good, bad, aerobic, anaerobic, gram negative everything so it is effects your gut too and having diarrhea or multiple trips to the loo is common. You might end up having constipation too and that is also common. The good thing is it helping your infection which means you are not resistant to it. Do not worry and do not stop medication. If you do want to stop it then consult with your doctor first.