Talk

Advanced search

Are my stats normal?

(7 Posts)
kevintheorangecarrot Wed 29-Apr-20 18:30:52

On my oximeter at rest I have 99% oxygen saturation's and heart rate is about 40BPM. When I'm active, my BPM around 60. I'm not athletic or slim (I'm overweight but not huge), however I work in an active job 5 days a week and at home I am also quite active. I guess I'm worried as it says less than 60BPM is Bradycardia shock

OP’s posts: |
Literallyfedup Wed 29-Apr-20 21:29:28

Did you try using the oximeter on someone else. If your oxygen saturation reading is 99% then your heart rate should be normal, unless you are a marathon runner in which case you can have a low heart rate and still have good saturation reading of 97% . Are you normally okay? If you are only questioning your health because of a reading but you otherwise feel healthy then may be you have a faulty device. I am no expert so please wait for other people's opinion.

SirTobyBelch Wed 29-Apr-20 21:43:02

Take your pulse with your fingers (or get someone else to do it) to see whether the pulse measurement on the oximeter is accurate. I know the pulse measurement on my home blood-pressure monitor is much lower than my actual pulse.

kevintheorangecarrot Wed 06-May-20 22:24:48

Sorry for late reply! Oxygen was different on my husband and his heart rate was around 80bpm! I checked again today and it was 36bpm. shock

OP’s posts: |
hotstepper4 Thu 07-May-20 17:32:13

I think I would get checked if I were you, 36bpm is very low

Spudina Thu 07-May-20 17:36:59

Just check your pulse manually OP. Don’t rely on the device. Count it for a full minute and don’t use your thumb. I’m sure it’s not 36.

vinoelle Thu 07-May-20 17:39:25