Talk

Advanced search

Just been diagnosed with antiphospholipid syndrome. Please help me understand this..

(12 Posts)
Rosielee93 Fri 03-May-19 12:29:55

I have just been told by my haematologist consultant my blood results have come back with a positive lupus anticoagulant result meaning i have been diagnosed with antiphospholipid syndrome. I have already had two life threatening blood clots in my life and im only 25. She wants to see me in the next 2 weeks to discuss what she wants to do. How bad is this? Does anyone else have this?

OP’s posts: |
MummaPI Sat 04-May-19 13:26:40

I'm no expert but my brother has this. He takes warfarin and has check ups to see what his blood levels are. Now hes on meds it seems not to be a problem.

Rosielee93 Sun 05-May-19 08:17:45

Thanks for the reply. I will ask for medication for sure. She wasnt sure it was necessary but i dont want to live my life waiting for the next clot.

Supergrassyknoll Tue 07-May-19 22:49:42

I have this. I was diagnosed after recurring miscarriages and a stillbirth at 29 weeks. I had serious pre eclampsia but I now have a precious little boy after I high rush but successful pregnancy aged 38. I had open heart surgery to repair a mitral valve aged 37, I've had a detached retina and a few other issues including brain infarcts. The fact you've been diagnosed so early is brilliant because you can be anticoagulated. Ask me anything and if I can help I will xx

Supergrassyknoll Tue 07-May-19 22:50:36

Oh and buy the book Sticky Blood Syndrome by Kay Thackeray, it explains it all really well x

Supergrassyknoll Tue 07-May-19 22:51:37

sorry high risk not high rush!

Eh1112 Tue 07-May-19 23:50:05