Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet hasn't checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have medical concerns, please seek medical attention; if you think your problem could be acute, do so immediately. Even qualified doctors can't diagnose over the internet, so do bear that in mind when seeking or giving advice.

Any gps or experts on here? Persistent cough.

(28 Posts)
HappinessAhead Sun 24-Sep-17 15:02:00

I've been coughing for 2 months. Don't get me wrong, it was worse a while back, but it's still here.

I've been to the GP twice as I have another condition. He checked out the cough 6 weeks ago (made me blow in a tube & listened to my chest) and said it was a chesty cough but he wasn't worried. I went again this week for my other condition and mentioned that I still have this cough and now feel full of phlegm. He said at my age (28) he'd start getting concerned if I still have it in another 4 weeks. I didn't have cold symptoms with it initially but I now feel like I've had the cold for the last 10 days (head feels full of fluid if I bend over, runny nose etc). I think I've noticed that I have a little coughing fit when I come back in from being outside (walking, which I do a lot of). I suffer from anxiety so my doctor's reassurance hasn't really reassured me. Just wondering if anyone here can shed any light and give me a second opinion which will hopefully put my mind at rest. Thank you.

loveyoutothemoon Sun 24-Sep-17 17:47:04

What's your other condition?

Haudyerwheesht Sun 24-Sep-17 17:48:26

What's the cough like? Are you coughing a bit frequently or is it spasmodic and infrequent?

HappinessAhead Sun 24-Sep-17 18:13:52

Other condition is chronic hives. Cough was frequent initially but now seems to be spasmodic. Doesn't seem to keep me up at night at all which is good. It feels like my body is trying to get rid of phlegm but I'm struggling to cough it up, if that makes sense.

HappinessAhead Sun 24-Sep-17 18:14:33