Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Jane Plant

(8 Posts)
boopsy Fri 24-Mar-17 16:05:05

I have been limiting dairy for a few years now to try and lower my risk of breast cancer (weak family history but i have health anxiety! I t was mostly due to reading Jane Plants book of how she cured cancer by avoiding dairy etc. However i googled her to see how she was getting on and she has died!! Feel really sorry for her loved ones which goes with out saying, but also feel really down. I really thought i was doing something positive for my health but it seems pointless now. I feel like i have no control over getting cancer and its scary. Can anybody point me towards any books they have read which they found useful in keeping healthy and/or preventing cancer?

1234hello Fri 24-Mar-17 18:54:56

Sorry to hear about your family history.

I had heard of Jane Plant so shock to me to hear she has died too.

First and foremost I would work on your health anxiety...maybe google some books for that also?!

Nevertheless it is sensible to be informed about what is within your control re preventing cancer and I would recommend this book:

www.amazon.co.uk/Anticancer-New-Life-David-Servan-Schreiber/dp/0718156846?tag=mumsnetforum-21

But you do know there are no guarantees? Please try to enjoy life and not get too obsessed smile

boopsy Sat 25-Mar-17 10:40:43

I will take a look thank you very much. I can kind of manage my health anxiety by doing research and reading books on preventing illness. i know there are no guarantees but it helps me feel im not totally helpless!!

1234hello Sat 25-Mar-17 11:18:40