Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Pain management

(13 Posts)
hollieb1986 Sat 25-Feb-17 15:44:50

Hi all I'm new to this and would just like some advice, iv got problems with my back that leads to trapped nerves and numbness my doctor prescribed me oramorph for the pain and now wants me switch for morphine patches and still use some oramorph for break through pain. I just wanted to know if anyone had been through the same thing and had unpleasant side affects, I have tried every other painkiller possible so morphine is my last resort. Any advise would be greatly appreciated thanks

MichaelSheensNextDW Sat 25-Feb-17 16:05:37

They are generally better than using oramorph because they release medication at a constant rate, rather than having the big dose of oramorph which then wears off. So generally a lower likelihood of side effects such as drowsiness, itching and nausea. What your GP is suggesting is good practice and should help you achieve better pain management overall. Do you take any analgesia specifically for nerve pain as well?

MountainDweller Sat 25-Feb-17 16:37:14

How do you feel on the oramorph? If you feel ok and are not badly affected by side effects such as nausea, vertigo and tiredness then you will probably do well on the patches.

I am on a cocktail of painkillers for back and other pain. I take slow release oxycodone and have drops for breakthrough pain. I have fewer side effects on that than on morphine (it's a synthetic opiate). I have also tried morphine patches but as well as not feeling well on them I developed an allergy to the adhesive. I also take lyrica for nerve pain. Have you been offered that or something similar? Often getting pain meds right can take a lot of trial and error. I just wanted you to know that there are other options if you don't get on with the morphine.

MountainDweller Sat 25-Feb-17 16:38:36