Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Arm pain-does this sound like a trapped nerve?

(7 Posts)
Bombaypotatoes Mon 20-Feb-17 17:31:46

Numbness and tingling in my left arm. Been on and off since Christmas. Usually bearable but today it's been happening every time I raise my arm or type on my keyboard.
Does it sound like a trapped nerve? And is that something I should go to the GP for? It's a nightmare getting an appointment so if possible I'd like to avoid it.

AndHoldTheBun Mon 20-Feb-17 17:38:31

Where is the pain and tingling exactly? Do you wake up with a numb arm, or numb fingers (pinkie and the one next to it) with a strip of numbness from fingers up to the elbow?

SaltandPepperRibs Mon 20-Feb-17 17:40:09

Yes it could be (I'm not a doctor, but I work in pain management). You need to get it checked out I'm afraid.

If you can afford it I'd recommend seeing a physio who will be able to assess the issue and recommend some safe exercises that could help. Pay particular attention to your posture too.

Bombaypotatoes Mon 20-Feb-17 17:51:18

It starts at my elbow and the tingling goes down in a strip almost to my hand. The whole hand feels numb and has a dull achy feeling. Then my pinky and thumb are the worst. Usually comes and goes so it's not always there when I wake up but sometimes is.
I could try a physio. I assume I can google a local one and just call them up and book an appointment?

bilbodog Mon 20-Feb-17 18:27:26

Ive had a similar experience with both arms since last november. It stems from my neck - ive seen a physio and also had neck and shoulder massages and been given exercises. It is slowly getting better.

As its your left arm i think you should get checked out by dr on an emergency appointment as it could be signs of a stroke - probably not but needs to be ruled out. Might also be carpal tunnel.