Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Doctor's appointment rant

(36 Posts)
yellocain Mon 20-Feb-17 12:33:42

Hi, I am new to these wall so I hope I have posted this in the right place. Please forgive me if I have not.

Anyway, I have just come off the phone from trying to book an appointment to see my doctor. Now, I am not the kind of person who visits the doctor on a regular basis and can count on one hand how many times I have seen the doctor in the last 5 years. I only tend to make an appointment if I am worried about something.
So here is my gripe.
I live in Creigiau and wanted to book an appointment to see any doctor as I am worried about a chest discomfort which is affecting the way that I breath. It is as almost as if my heart is stopping momentarily lol. I know it isn't but that is only way as I can describe it.
So.. I call and speak to the formidable policing dept, (reception) to arrange to see the doctor and informed her of my concerns.
"The 20th March is the earliest any doctor can see you" was her reply.
Unless I am mistaken, Creigiau is not a huge place but it must be the only doctors surgery for miles around!!! Four or Five doctors fully booked up with appointments for a whole month in a village!! Am I missing something here!! The times I do go to the doctors, I am only in there for 5 or 6 mins max! I spend more time in the waiting room!! So if the average appointment last for 15 mins, that's four an hour. That's 28 in a 7 hour day! For a surgery of 4 or 5 doctors, that's over a 100 patients a day, 500 a week!! I know it's not a true estimate but you can see where I am coming from. How can I not get an appointment within a month!!
I just simply fail to see how this is the case. I know doctors are extremely busy but..... I could be dead in a month!!! smile))

ScarletSienna Mon 20-Feb-17 12:36:31