Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Pre-menstrual Syndrome (PMS) What do people think about it?

(28 Posts)
LauraStorm Mon 26-Feb-07 18:40:24

Hi! Im a 3rd year anthropology student at University College, London (and mumsnet member!)
I am writing a dissertation about PMS and how it affects women's lives and I was wondering if there is anyone living in the London area who would be willing to chat to me or share their ideas?
Thankyou for your help!!

Mercy Mon 26-Feb-07 18:48:23

Ooooh, I'll be back later this evening to answer this one! If I don't forget, that is

Have just started dealing with this - am early 40s, probably peri-menopauasal and I hate it.

psychobitch Mon 26-Feb-07 18:55:58

Well my partner considers me to be psychotic (hence the name) pretty much all the time, but litteraly 'takes cover' when I am suffering from PMT!

smittenkitten Mon 26-Feb-07 19:58:00

i'm a psychology grad and did my dissertation on attributional patterns in women who self diagnose with PMT. found there was a predictable and consistent pattern of attributions vs women who didn't report PMT. i believe it is a socially constructed experience rather than a physiological one.

VeniVidiVickiQV Mon 26-Feb-07 20:02:08

Feel free to speak to me.....

smitten, please share more....am v interested.

charlieq Mon 26-Feb-07 20:05:03

mmm smitten I am interested

If it is socially constructed, I would love to know how I am constructing all my horrible symptoms all starting day after ovulation. I am open to the idea of 'female problems' being socially constructed, it just doesn't actually chime with my reality.

ScottishThistle Mon 26-Feb-07 20:08:02

Socially constructed?

The feeling that I could kill someone/cry about anything & everything 24hrs before my Period???

fransmom Mon 26-Feb-07 20:09:15

smitten i take it you don't suffer at all??????????