Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Emetophobia

(7 Posts)
Dottydoodoo Sat 21-Jan-17 10:18:58

I don't know where it stems from it why, but I have such an irrational fear of vomiting. 9 month old DS is just getting over a sickness bug and DH and I were fine and then boom, DH started vomiting in the early hours of this morning. I am a wreck. I kissed DH last night before he was ill and I am so paranoid that I am going to now catch it. I can feel my stomach is empty, I'm starving and I'm sat here with hands that are red raw through washing them so much. I feel so nervous and am just on tenterhooks 'waiting'. I don't even feel unwell! (Yet)

My irrational mind is telling me that if I don't eat then I can't be sick because there is nothing in there to bring up. My sane mind tells me that this won't work. I'm a nurse for goodness sake, why can't I cope with it?

Is there anything that I can do in the long term to try and get over this? Would it be worth making a GP appointment I'll probably get laughed out of the door? When there's no illness in the house it barely crosses my mind, but if there is I'm a nervous bordering on obsessive wreck.

Help!

Twopeapods Sat 21-Jan-17 15:56:35

I feel your pain. I am the EXACT same. DD1 had the bug before xmas. I wear gloves and bleach everything and anything, instantly. Washing with zoflora/dettol stuff, taps, handles, buttons. And I keep a bottle of steriliser on me, so if I have to touch something I can instantly use it.
There was a thread on here last week about treatment plan for us emetophobes and I'm going to try it. It actually makes me miserable to be so anxious all the time.

Twopeapods Sat 21-Jan-17 15:59:59