Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Contact lense wearers, how long do you wear them a day?

(11 Posts)
wenker Tue 08-Nov-16 06:24:06

And do you have any problems when you first put them in?

I have been wearing soft lenses for over twenty years and I am now experiencing discomfort when I first put them in. I have now had to reduce the number of hours I wear them a day.

Just asking to see if there is a link between hours of wear age and discomfort for others.

Thanks

Tronkmanton Tue 08-Nov-16 06:27:06

Maybe try asking your optician for a different make of lens as that made a real difference to me.

wenker Tue 08-Nov-16 06:32:08

Hello, I have done that already.

Helenluvsrob Tue 08-Nov-16 06:34:17

Agree change the kind of lenses. I have ones for dry eyes and wear them many hours sometimes. Something's I have a dryness issue but it's rare .
If I get any irritation on putting them it inpop thrmstraight out and swish in the saline they came in. I assume is an invisible but of fibre / dust.

Fairylea Tue 08-Nov-16 06:38:00

There is a link between becoming older and the level of moisture in your eyes. Sometimes just switching types or brands of lenses can help as can using comfort drops. My mum is 69 and hasn't been able to tolerate any type of lenses for the last 15 years - she's tried them all and now wears glasses all the time. I'm only 36 but I notice my eyes are changing and becoming dryer too. I used to wear my lenses 12 hours a day easily and now by early evening I am desperate to take them out!

SparklesandBangs Tue 08-Nov-16 06:39:11

I wear mine from 7am to 11pm every day, however I can only wear 1 type of lens, I tried many/all on the market to get to one I found comfortable

VivienneWestwoodsKnickers Tue 08-Nov-16 06:40:55

Try eye drops? Have you had your eyes looked at for dryness?

WhoKnowsWhereTheTimeG0es Tue 08-Nov-16 06:45:07