Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

So, psoriasis then

(5 Posts)
madwomanbackintheattic Fri 04-Dec-15 01:38:59

I have been ignoring it for about six months thinking it was (variously) sweat rash, reaction to soap/ washing powder, whatever, but finally went to the doc and she has referred me to dermatologist. It's going to be a month or two before I get seen, so what can I do over the counter in the meantime?

For info, I have two flat patches in the sweaty bit under my boobs (nice), splashes around my groin and waistline, patches on inner elbows and inner upper arms, a patch on each side of my rib cage, and new this week, am starting to get it on the insides of my wrists too. It's itchy, and burns if I scratch it. Grr.

Anything that's obvious to start with?

ICanSeeForMiles Fri 04-Dec-15 04:39:35

Did your GP not give you anything? I've had two flaky patches on my knees since February, and finally went to docs Tuesday. I've had no other history, and didn't have a clue what it was. Was prescribed a gel that's made a massive difference in just 3 days, applying twice a day. Will check what it is in the morning and get back to you.

mrselizabethdarcy Fri 04-Dec-15 05:58:47

I use talc/powder under my boobs and at the top of my legs. It helps stop the shiny sore skin from bothering me. The inside of my wrists get worse when I have washed the pots or used bLeach so I always wear gloves for household stuff.

I have other stuff I have to apply on a night but it can be VERY sticky so I often just use a moisturuser.

If I've picked/scratched I use good old sudacrem for a few days and this sorts it our.

Good luck with your dermatologist appointment. smile

madwomanbackintheattic Fri 04-Dec-15 06:19:15