Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Any Drs/pharmacists or HCPs around? Eye problem

(16 Posts)
TheoriginalLEM Tue 28-Jul-15 21:06:11

My DP went to the Drs this morning with a swollen eyelid. Its red and sore. Dr prescribed chloramphenical. It seems to be getting worse since he has applied the cream. Should he stop and go back to dr? it looks really angry and swollen now - he says the eye hurts now rather being sore if that makes sense.

loveyoutothemoon Tue 28-Jul-15 21:18:29

I'm no health professional but I'd suggest he stopped using the cream and go back to the GP. In the meantime try salt water, being careful not to get it in the eye.

Diggum Tue 28-Jul-15 21:40:56

If his eye hurts when he's moving it he'll need to be seen again tonight. Especially if the eye area is starting to look puffy.

That, and pain rather than irritation, is a sign of more significant infection than a simple conjunctivitis and he may need oral antibiotics at a minimum.

bonzo77 Tue 28-Jul-15 21:43:55

Straight to OOH. I had exactly this and it was peri-orbital cellulitis. Twice. Potentially serious if not treated properly. Had 2 different types of antibiotics.

Diggum Tue 28-Jul-15 21:47:22

That's exactly what I'd be worried about Bonzo. You poor thing having it twice!

TheoriginalLEM Tue 28-Jul-15 21:51:17

Hmmm, more chance of getting him to jump off a cliff that getting him to OOH tbh. He is going to go to the Drs in the morning again. He has washed off the cream and says it feels a bit better. The worrying thing is having googled (I KNOW) it looks more like peri-orbital cellulitis than a stye or conjunctivitis.

Diggum Tue 28-Jul-15 21:54:34

Well in that case I'd take a photo of it now, and again in an hour or two. If it doesn't look marginally better and especially if it looks worse, push him to go to OOH.

QueenOfCats Tue 28-Jul-15 21:55:42