Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet hasn't checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have medical concerns, please seek medical attention; if you think your problem could be acute, do so immediately. Even qualified doctors can't diagnose over the internet, so do bear that in mind when seeking or giving advice.

ferritin levels

(16 Posts)
OhYouBadBadKitten Tue 27-Jan-15 17:47:59

Just back from a medical appt. Was told my ferritin level is 14, that it should be a minimum of 15 but 14 is normal for menstruating women.
Is that really true or is it a bit too low?

Behooven Tue 27-Jan-15 17:52:27

I'm no expert but I think that's at the low end of normal. Do you feel ok with it at 14?

OhYouBadBadKitten Tue 27-Jan-15 18:04:39

Not fab, but I've other health issues. This was a bit of an incidental finding I think. I'm going a bit bald in places but my psoriasis is a good part of the cause of that probably.

Bugsylugs Tue 27-Jan-15 18:08:06

Depends on the lab ranges here normal is from 20. However depends why you had the test done there is increasing evidence that if it is <50 and someone has symptoms mainly tiredness they may benefit from iron. Drinking orange juice with main meal helps you absorb iron from food.

OhYouBadBadKitten Tue 27-Jan-15 18:13:50

test done as part of a screening for gastro issues. Tiredness is an ongoing thing but expected for me.

I don't really have the energy to pursue it and I guess if the consultant wasn't worried then I shouldn't be either, but if there's an easy fix that might help with the tiredness levels then perhaps I ought to take a supplement? I do take a general multi-vit.

Behooven Tue 27-Jan-15 18:18:11

You could try Spatone which is a natural 'gentle' iron. It's good because it won't constipate you and it definitely helped me when I was getting over a bout of ill health. My hair and nails even improved which was a bonus.

OhYouBadBadKitten Tue 27-Jan-15 18:32:49

Cool - I will try that. Thanks smile