Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Donating a kidney

(8 Posts)
PotteringAlong Wed 24-Dec-14 21:16:17

My dad needs a kidney transplant. Due to my siblings own kidney issues I'm the only one who can be tested to donate. Does anyone have any experience? I don't know what to think (and it's Christmas and I've drunk half a bottle of champagne which isn't helping fblush)

WishUponAStar88 Wed 24-Dec-14 21:22:11

Do you have specific questions or after stories? I have no personal experience but through work have met many people who have donated a kidney/ part of their liver to a family member.
Testing for suitability is an in depth process and you should have a transplant coordinator to be able to assist you in any questions you may have. I'm sorry your dad is poorly and wish you both luck whether you decide to go down the route of a living donor or not. flowers

PotteringAlong Wed 24-Dec-14 21:30:56

To be honest I'm torn between the feeling that I should do it and the fear that I will die and my DS's will be left without me and I can't risk it. The NHS quote a risk of 1 in
3000 of death but I have no idea whether that's high or not.

If I'm honest, I'm not sure what I'm looking for. It only came up as a possibility this week and I know it's something I need to think about properly in the new year but it keeps pervading my thoughts!

hiddenhome Fri 26-Dec-14 20:01:44

It's not something that I would do for a parent. What if one of your children needed one on the future?

Mrsmorton Fri 26-Dec-14 20:04:27

I would do this for my father in a heartbeat but OP, we are all different. You may not be compatible, think carefully about being tested because if you are compatible the expectations will be high.

It's a tough one, what are his chances of getting a cadaveric donor?

Annietheacrobat Fri 26-Dec-14 22:01:42