Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Period like cramps without period.

(12 Posts)
TheArticFunky Mon 24-Mar-14 11:47:16

For the last few months I am experiencing discomfort. Period like cramps with pain in lower back and legs. The pain in my legs is the worst, I feel like an old woman hmm. The strange thing is the pain dissipates by day 3 of my period and then returns 2 days after my period has finished.

Has anyone else experienced this?

bigblueheart Mon 24-Mar-14 12:49:37

Hi arctic
I'm not a doctor, but suffered from chronic endometriosis. I also had ovarian cysts. The pain was horrific. I would go to your GP and ask for a referral to a gynaecologist. The pain down the legs especially resonates - it's hideous.
I hope you get it sorted.

TheArticFunky Mon 24-Mar-14 13:33:24

Thanks bigblueheart. The strange thing is since having my second child my periods are much lighter and I have no pain anymore. It would appear that I have swapped period in exchange for pain the rest of the month. [ hmm]

Scornedwoman67 Mon 24-Mar-14 15:16:41

Mine did exactly that - the periods became lighter, the pain got worse. Apparenty if you have endometriosis you bleed 'internally' which is what causes the paid. Definitely sounds like this might be what you have. Mine got a lot lot worse after my 2nd child. I tried various tablets, then had an endometrial ablation. Unfortunately in the end I had to have a hysterectomy but didn't mind as I didn't want any more children. It is awful & you have my sympathy too!!

TheArticFunky Mon 24-Mar-14 15:27:41

It's really odd isn't it? I've spent years doubled up in pain with period pain now they are a walk in the park and I'm actually looking forward to them arriving because they ease the pain.

Scornedwoman67 Mon 24-Mar-14 16:33:21

Have you got children?
The options are wider if your family is 'complete' as it were!