Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Smear Test

(13 Posts)
Joey8 Thu 20-Mar-14 13:12:14

Ok so I've been very bad and have put off ever having one done up until now...

Having it done later this afternoon but I'm slightly nervous. I keep hearing about how much it hurts! And im not good with pain!

Can anyone put my mind at ease?

treaclesoda Thu 20-Mar-14 13:15:03

I've never found it painful. Uncomfortable, but not painful. I suppose some people are better at doing them than others, like everything.

Anyway, if it hurts, speak up and ask them to stop for a moment.

Good luck, a few moments discomfort is worth it.

twentyten Thu 20-Mar-14 13:17:28

The thought is often the worst bit. The more you can relax, you may feel almost nothing. Last time I went I was nattering to the nurse and couldn't believe she'd done it.

Deep breaths! Plan a treat for being a good girl!!!

Northumberlandlass Thu 20-Mar-14 13:17:48

Good on you for making an appt.

It's uncomfortable & not particularly pleasant but it doesn't hurt (my opinion). I know it's hard, but take deep breaths and try to relax as much as possible.

FWIW - I've had regular smears since I was 25. I'm 41 now, in Oct had a smear, Nov found out I had abnormal cells, Dec had biopsy & found out they were CIN3 and had Loop in January. It's all dealt with - but who knows what would of happened if I hadn't had one. Those few seconds (really it doesn't take long) of uncomfort are worth it smile

Northumberlandlass Thu 20-Mar-14 13:18:25

discomfort

PennySillin Thu 20-Mar-14 13:19:28

Well done for making the appointment. As treacle has already said it can be an uncomfortable procedure but it shouldn't be painful and if it does cause you pain you must let the nurse know. This is exactly what I say to my patients before I carry out their smear. I hope you get on ok smile