Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Pelvic ultrasound - what to expect?

(8 Posts)
vroomvroommum Tue 18-Mar-14 13:47:21

I've been putting up with pain in my abdomen and pelvis for 3 years because I'm petrified of all examinations since I was induced.

Can anyone tell me what to expect and how I can relax? Appointment on Friday and I'm already not sleeping.

BadgersRetreat Tue 18-Mar-14 14:45:14

I have had internal and external ones - external is like a pregnancy scan i imagine (never been pg) and they do your kidneys too so a little bit of rolling about needed so they can get to them.

The internal one is basically a 'wand' with a sort of condom on that i was asked to insert myself, and then the radiographer moved it about to scan.

It was not painful in any way - it's a bit odd but was absolutely fine both times. Non invasive would be a way to describe it. Much less unpleasant than a smear, say.

You might only need the external one? Don't worry.

hellymelly Tue 18-Mar-14 14:50:59

I had one a couple of months ago. They didn't tell me to have a full bladder , if I had been told I would not have had a wee on arrival and then would have just had an abdominal scan (just the same as a pregnancy one) instead I had the vaginal scan. As the poster above me says, it is a wand, on which they put a condom thing, and then they wiggle it about a bit when it is in your vagina. I had them while pregnant too so not too much of a shock. Mine was a bit uncomfortable at times, partly as the doc was pressing on my ovary , which was painful anyway (hence the scan). It took about ten minutes or so, not too bad.

Seaoftroubles Tue 18-Mar-14 15:00:01