Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

TVT operation

(10 Posts)
spritzer1 Wed 19-Feb-14 13:15:16

Hello I hope someone can help with my query - new to Mumsnet so probably will nor understand all the acronyms! I am 54 and due to have a TVT in 3 weeks as day surgery with a GA. I am a self employed Fitness Instructor and single parent so need to do a twice daily school run etc. We also have 3 horses in at night at the moment so mucking out daily. Every medical professional I've asked has given me a different answer re recovery time from a few days to 12 weeks! I am now officially panicking. The stress incontinence is not bad judging by some reports but is making working life difficult and I'm not riding at the moment (unpredictable spooking not good!) I can't afford to be off work for a long time and was also told that I may come home with a catheter - yikes! Not a good look in the gym. Can anybody give me some feedback re recovery? I have no other issues and am very fit and well at the moment. Thank you!

ilovesprouts Wed 19-Feb-14 19:22:28

cant help you but im hoping to have the same thing done my bladder is naffed so is my pelvic floor due to accident .

johnnycastle Wed 19-Feb-14 19:33:26

I had this done 4 years ago, best thing I ever did. It's totally transformed my life. I was off work for 6 weeks afterwards and felt pretty sore for most of that time. Another friend has had TVT too (same surgeon, but privately) and recovered more quickly, I think recovery time varies.

spritzer1 Wed 19-Feb-14 22:39:09

I'll let you know how I get on!

spritzer1 Wed 19-Feb-14 22:44:58

johnnycastle - thank you for that - have since spoken to colleague who had same op and she said recovery 2 weeks for her and it also transformed her life smile I am still very nervous about it but have put it off once already and think I just have to go for it.