Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Please can the Tamoxigang members hold my hand?

(5 Posts)
Angelsaboveus Tue 18-Feb-14 19:01:55

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Angelsaboveus Tue 18-Feb-14 19:06:24

YellowDinosaur Tue 18-Feb-14 20:46:15

I'm not a tamoxigang member but I am a breast surgeon so hopefully can help anser your questions.

Bilateral mastectomy and implant reconstruction will last 2-3 hours. You will be in theatre longer than that though as putting you to sleep and waking you up will take time so for your family tell them to expect you to be away for more like 4-5 hours.

Expanders are implants that are empty and can be filled up to a fixed volume with saline. They are used for a couple of reasons. Firstly for ladies who have a delayed breast reconstruction after having a mastectomy for cancer (reconstruction some time after the initial mastectomy). You can't just put a regular implant in as there is not enough skin, so you need to stretch it up with an expander first. To do this you put the expander in partially filled and then add small amounts of saline over the next few weeks to slowly stretch the skin. Once the expander is full then you need a second operation to remove it and replace it with a regular silicone implant.

The other time they are used is if you are doing an immediate breast reconstruction at the same time as doing a mastectomy for cancer when you are concerned the lady might need radiotherapy afterwards. This isn't good for the cosmetic results for most types of breast reconstruction but especially implant reconstruction. The expander can be put in as a temporary measure allowing the lady to keep her skin and natural breast shape and can then finish her reconstruction surgery after she has finished her cancer treatment.