Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Tell me about your experiences with hospital PALS dept.

(16 Posts)
Mouldypineapple Mon 17-Feb-14 19:51:18

I'm applying for a job in the PALS (Patient Advice Liaison Service) at a nearby hospital. I'm actually a nurse but have a back problem currently which restricts the sort of nursing I can do but PALS interests me and I think I have a lot of transferable skills.
So, can you please tell me your experiences of dealing with PALS - good or bad, the reasons you needed them, how we'll they dealt with your problems, anything else you think I need to know....
Thanks.

lokidoki Mon 17-Feb-14 20:02:01

Never used it as a patient but I am a practice manger and we sometimes use them on behalf of patients. They are generally good at getting to the root of an issue when patients have already been from pillar to post as it were.

They are knowledgeable about who is responsible for what and IME are very resourceful. I don't know for sure but I would imagine that lots of people are quite frustrated and frazzled by the time they get to them.

Lastly, in my opinion, the NHS doesn't promote the service nearly enough.

Good luck grin

RustyParker Mon 17-Feb-14 20:34:52

Hi Mouldy, I recently spoke to PALS at my local hospital to see if it was possible to arrange a debrief after my twin sister's death as I had a few questions.

They have arranged that for me and also put me in touch with the breavement service at the hospital, particularly for a service which I didn't know they offered.

Whilst waiting to hear back from the departments she referred my details onto, she kept in touch with courtsey calls and even when I was in touch with the departments directly, she called to say that PALS would be happy to help if I had any other questions or if things didn't seem to be moving very quickly.