Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet hasn't checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have medical concerns, please seek medical attention; if you think your problem could be acute, do so immediately. Even qualified doctors can't diagnose over the internet, so do bear that in mind when seeking or giving advice.

Vaccinations - does anyone support the alternative view?

(39 Posts)
Evo Wed 11-Feb-04 07:56:13

I'm new to this - and my DD is just approaching two months and thus the first vaccine (DTP) hurdle. Myself & my wife have been reading up (including past threads on this site) but have yet to make a decision. We are considering no vaccines at all, based around some of the arguments that are presented by the homeopathic / non-orthodox medical community, such as
many serious diseases were delining or had gone before the intrduction of vaccines; vaccines by pass a large part of the immune system which has been finely tuned over millions of years (the membranes of the stomache etc; there is no such thing as herd immunity; vaccines are not tested to the same standards as many other drugs;orthodox medecine works by 'suppressing' symtoms rather than helping the body to do its job.

I am firmly sat on the fence at the moment but have not yet managed to find what I would call a balanced view of the arguments from the orthodox and non-orthodox viewpoints. Indeed, most of the orthodox material seems to be almost contemptuous of anyone trying to suggest that there may be another way of looking at things.

Any views and suggestions of quality reading material would be most welcome.

WideWebWitch Wed 11-Feb-04 08:48:02

Hi Evo, you could try a search on this board - there have been some intelligent and interesting debates on the subject here. If you do go for DTP you might want to consider mercury free - if you search on mercury you'll find some threads. Welcome to mumsnet.

Evita Wed 11-Feb-04 10:12:16