Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Any GPs who could explain something to me please...

(8 Posts)
Janey654 Thu 02-May-13 11:34:38

I went to give blood the other day and was sent home because I was anaemic.
My GP did a blood test with everything being normal except for these results:

Serum ferritin 8.7 ug/L
ay 8.7 speak

HB 10.3
Haematocrit 34.8%
Mean Corpuscular volume (MCV) 75.7 fL
Mean corpuscular haemoglobin (MCH) 22.4 pg

I have typed it out as it is on the sheet, hope it makes sense.

He has now sent me to a haemotologist to get the results investigated. Please can you explain why? To the untrained eye it just looks like I need shed loads of iron (am not veggie and apart from too much sugar my diet is pretty balanced). So why can be not treat me? Thanks for reading.

Janey654 Thu 02-May-13 15:47:38

Bump.

larrygrylls Thu 02-May-13 16:13:32

I am not a doctor but I can google and understand the units. You clearly do need iron but I guess they want to know why you are iron deficient rather than just curing the symptom. This is surely a good thing.

It looks like you have microcytic anaemia (cells too small) which is the normal (and less dangerous) kind and the mass of iron in each cell is too low. Your haematocrit (also known as packed cell volume) is also slightly low which means less of your total blood volume is made up of less red blood cells than normal.

To be honest, I am surprised you have been referred to a haematologist as these do not seem extreme results. They may be concerned about blood loss from somewhere (menstrual? gut?) and want to rule it out. Also, if you have a normal diet and no haemorrhage, they may want to see why you are not absorbing iron properly, which may entail more tests.