Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Pls tell me about treatment for warts

(6 Posts)
Baskets45 Thu 11-Oct-12 17:57:37

I've had a big wart on hand for last few months, large and unsightly and in annoying position, so decided to treat with salactol. Now I've got a painful mess! In the last week it's started to look like it's disintegrating, but it began bleeding overnight. Is this normal? i've got very little experience with warts - last one was when aged about 10 - and verrucae I or DCs have had have just eventually fallen off, with or without salactol. But without bleeding bits. I tried duct tape but seem to be allergic to it as I got a rash (I am sensitive to lots incl certain sticking plasters so not a surprise really).

So, can someone suggest next step for me please. Have I overdone the salactol, and should I stop that now? haven't used since yesterday. I've had a read through relevant bits of Patient UK bt no clear guidance on what to do if the thing bleeds.

thewhistler Thu 11-Oct-12 22:15:14

Oh dear, don't know as have never used salactol. But yes mine used to bleed. Obviously you need to keep them infection free.

I was cured for ever by a white witch. Yes, I don't believe it either but it happened. Never had them since, and I had had them for years.

tabbycat15 Fri 12-Oct-12 15:33:25

I had to warts ony hands. I took high strength garlic tablets for over a year & one day I looked & they had disappeared. Garlic is anti viral.

Could you go to the Dr & get them frozen off with liquid nitrogen?

I would maybe show a pharmacist & see what they suggest if they are bleeding. You will probably need to leave off treated them for a while if the skin surface is open as you may get infection. Not sure if they should be covered up if bleeding.

nothinginthefridge Fri 12-Oct-12 17:06:59