Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Has anyone been tested for sleep apnea?

(9 Posts)
TheOriginalFAB Mon 25-Jul-11 13:54:09

I am going to be and would appreciate any information about it please.

sonsmum Mon 25-Jul-11 20:41:15

I was a student in a hospital and helped with sleep apnoea tests, so this response is from my knowledge of approx 10yrs ago......so things may have advanced but perhaps it is all the same.
Very simplistically, Sleep apnoea is a sleep disorder characterised by a cessation of breathing which causes your body to wake up, and consequently you don't sleep properly, don't get deep sleep and suffer with daytime sleepiness in the day.
To be tested, you will spend a night in a sleep lab and will have a lot of probes attached to your scalp to measure physiological responses. You will also have your heart rate monitored and a pulse oxymeter on your finger to measure your oxygen saturation levels. You will sleep and data will be recorded from the probes continuously. The sleep technician will be analysing this data all through the night and will indicate your arousals (this is the term to describe the times you may awaken yourself through not breathing). From all the data including the heart/ocygen saturation data it will be determined if you have sleep apnoea and if intervention is needed. This would be a cpap machine that you would need to wear at night to keep your airways open.
Do not worry about the sleep test.....it is a bit of a sterile environment, ie a hospital bed etc but you have your own room and they try to make it a little more like a bedroom, but you will have all these probes everywhere so you may not be able to sleep in your favourite position but you are likley to sleep and from the data collected, your consultant will know how best to proceed. good luck.

TheOriginalFAB Mon 25-Jul-11 20:44:32