Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Should I worry? I'm worried.

(11 Posts)
SmallSherryforMedicinal Wed 06-Jul-11 17:39:08

My mum is 62. We don't live near each other but we'd talk daily. Lately I've noticed her repeating info/little stories to me on the phone, just little things, things you could write off as thinking she'd told someone else but not me. Today though she told me that last evening, she cooked two evening meals, unintentionally. She laughed it off, but I know she would be worried as her own mum died with Alzheimer's. What if anything should I do? I'm scared to talk to

Nobdie Wed 06-Jul-11 17:56:16

Hi I've no experience of this, but think you should mention it to the rest of your family so they are all aware. We all do stupid things sometimes, so I wouldn't worry too much at this stage, but keep an eye on the situation. It will make you feel better to tell everyone I think smile

SuburbanDream Wed 06-Jul-11 17:56:17

Does your mum live alone? Are there any relatives/neighbours who live closer to her who you could talk to about how she seems? My mum has Alzheimer's - she's only 68 but she developed early-onset Alzheimer's in her 50's. In her case, we noticed that she lost interest in reading the paper etc, then couldn't tell the time any more or write properly. There were gradual changes, forgetfulness etc, but these can be linked to other disorders too so it's quite hard to diagnose in the early stages. Could you go and visit her and take her to the GP? If she's worried it might help to have some moral support and also help answer questions you might have