Talk

Advanced search

Travel cot mattresses-very confused

(14 Posts)
waskywax Wed 01-Jul-09 21:22:15

Looking for some advice here,

we are thinking its time to invest in a travel cot as we have grown out of the pram basket we have been using up to now.

What I dont understand is that pretty much every review I read says the mattresses in travel cots are too thin to really sleep on and you need to invest in a mattress to put on top. So I looked at the mattresses, and they all seem to be 4 or 5 cms thick, like a normal mattress. Doesnt this mean that you then have to cart a whole mattress round with you seperately? Is there such a thing as an additional mattress that is also compact and easy to take around with you?
I hope I have psoted this in the right place, its my first time on mumsnet.

Thanks all

giantkatestacks Wed 01-Jul-09 21:25:18

Those reviews are rubbish - travel cot mattresses are fine...make sure you air it though before you use it because fresh out of the plastic the synthetic smell is awful...

onepieceofcremeegg Wed 01-Jul-09 21:27:55

I have never seen a travel cot with a 4-5 inch mattress (that's not to say they don't exist)

Ime they are only an inch or two thick. My dds have never had problems sleeping on them - possibly as they have a layer of grobag under their backs too? Some friends of ours put a folded blanket under the travel cot mattress to supposedly make it more comfy for the lo.

I've never seen an additional separate mattress, imo this would defeat the object of a "travel" cot!

wonderingwondering Wed 01-Jul-09 21:31:53

I don't take a travel cot unless we are staying where there isn't a cot - like someone's house. Just buy a travel cot mattress - they are thin sheets with a bit of padding - and put that over the hotel mattress so your baby is sleeping on their own mattress. I take a fitted sheet too, so they have their own bedding. It doesn't take much room/weight.