Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Hotels in London

(18 Posts)
Waswondering Wed 27-Apr-05 11:45:05

DH is murmuring about taking me to London for the weekend later in the year. Just the two of us. Probably as a thank you to me for being such a great wife . . .

Any suggestions of where to stay that isn't a Travel Lodge? Something with a bit of character, and memorable, but that won't require a second mortgage?

Iklboo Wed 27-Apr-05 11:50:52

Hiya. I work as a Visits Co-Ordonator (sounds posh - isn't) and use sites like this quite a lot for booking hotels:-

http://www.hoteldirect.co.uk/london

You can get some very good deals. 'Fraid I only get to book more corporate type hotels, but I know there are some V nice ones out there for not a great deal of money. Hope this helps.
Tracy

FLUM Wed 27-Apr-05 11:52:15

Durrants is nice. Depending on size of your mortgage it may require one

Earlybird Wed 27-Apr-05 11:56:31

Do you have any idea what area you'd like to be in? Also, do you prefer quaint/cozy, grand, modern and sleek?

Waswondering Wed 27-Apr-05 12:04:04

Central London (we don't know London at all well). Something sumptuous? That makes us feel very spoiled. We're hoping to take in a couple of galleries, museums, London Eye, Hamleys while we're there, and maybe a show. Maybe (not really his thing!!). Maybe mid September?

FLUM Wed 27-Apr-05 12:16:40

Hamleys! Are you mad!

Stay well away from there, that place is mental!

Waswondering Wed 27-Apr-05 12:18:20

Really? But thought we had to go there to assuage any guilt about leaving ds behind . . .

Waswondering Wed 27-Apr-05 15:47:00

Any other suggestions?

CountessDracula Wed 27-Apr-05 15:50:01

How about the new Malmaison in Clerkenwell?
here

helsy Wed 27-Apr-05 18:03:04

Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington is fab - supperbreak do deals - we got an upgrade because it was Dh's birthday.

helsy Wed 27-Apr-05 18:03:56

or even superbreaks...

WideWebWitch Wed 27-Apr-05 18:05:14

The Hempel?