Talk

Advanced search

Luxury resorts in Spain/Portugal with 6 month+ DD

(44 Posts)
KimchiLaLa Wed 31-Jan-18 17:02:07

DH and I would like to take DD on holiday when she is 6 months plus. We don't want a long flight so are looking to go to Spain or Portugal. Has anyone visited any luxury resorts there which are also kid friendly?

This is my first time booking a holiday with a baby and I'm finding it hard - we want a mix of a nice hotel with a beach or pool but also relatively family friendly. Think along the lines of this: https://www.mrandmrssmith.com/luxury-hotels/anantara-vilamoura-resort

IsabelleSE19 Wed 31-Jan-18 17:06:54

During a rare flush period we went to Martinhal in Portugal with our then 2yo DS - it was absolutely brilliant. Several pools, sandpits, playgrounds, and staff at the restaurants whose only function is to entertain your DC while you wait for your food to arrive. Would go back again except we are skint since having second DC!

www.martinhal.com/sagres/en/

KimchiLaLa Wed 31-Jan-18 17:11:52

Will check it out, thanks so much!

HLBug Wed 31-Jan-18 17:14:12

Absolutely agree with Martinhal. We've been to the Sagres one twice.

Brighteyes27 Wed 31-Jan-18 21:24:56

I know this might go against popular opinion but when I was young and single I was once on a 3-4 hour flight with a baby one side of me crying and screaming and a toddler behind me kicking the back of my seat, pulling my hair hair from time to time and screaming and criying for the duration of the flight which completely ruined the flight for myself and probably most of the passengers on the plane.
So I never took my DC on a plane until they were 4/5 and I can’t see why anybody would.
At only 6 months old surely she might be better off with a holiday at Centre Parcs or somewhere in UK as she won’t know where she’s at?

mummymeister Thu 01-Feb-18 11:20:49