Talk

Advanced search

Liquids in carry on luggage

(23 Posts)
BoysRule Wed 05-Oct-16 20:04:22

I am going away for the weekend and only taking carry on luggage on the plane. I have never done this before. What do I do about toiletries? I will need to take all the usual stuff - shampoo, conditioner, face cream, deodorant etc. What can I do in terms of making sure it is under the amount and do I have to declare it at Gatwick in plastic bags?

Any top tips?

Thanks

ShinyDiscoBalls Wed 05-Oct-16 20:09:54

You can either buy those little travel size bottles that are under 100ml, or buy your toiletries in the airport once you've gone through security checks. That's what I did when I went away in August

StillRunningWithScissors Wed 05-Oct-16 20:10:15

You need to have all liquids in your carry on in 100ml containers, and in the plastic bag (30cm X 30cm I think).

If it helps, you could skip bringing it with you, and buy everything at boots in the departure area, then you aren't restricted.

StillRunningWithScissors Wed 05-Oct-16 20:10:49

Cross posted with SDB :-)

Natsku Wed 05-Oct-16 20:12:22

You need them in a sealable bag (most airports provide these) less than 100ml each and 1l in total and have the bag out of your hand luggage at security.

chocoshopoholic Wed 05-Oct-16 20:12:35

And solid shampoo doesn't class as a liquid so doesn't need to fit in the litre plastic bag that you're allowed.

I tend to have 2, one with non liquid toiletries such a solid shampoo, toothbrush so that I can squeeze everything else into the liquid one.

BoysRule Wed 05-Oct-16 20:12:48

Great, thanks. Sounds like it's best to buy it once through and put it in my bag then.

AntiHop Wed 05-Oct-16 20:18:22

Don't forget that if you buy things that are over 100ml after security, you have to throw them away when you travel back as the same restrictions will apply.