Talk

Advanced search

Places to eat in York

(13 Posts)
helenmh Sun 26-May-02 20:43:00

We are having a day trip to York with childreen aged 10 and 8 and grandparents. Any recommendations of good places to eat?
thanks
helen

Ems Sun 26-May-02 21:07:32

Im not an expert on York, but when I was there visiting Viking museum during Easter (with grandparents and 6 and 2 years old), we went to a big Pret a Manger, big seating area upstairs, loads to choose from, suited everyones tastes.

Sandwiches, salads, cakes, croissants, crisps, decent coffees and drinks.

Lollypop Sun 26-May-02 21:25:53

You could try Fenwicks the department store next to the viking museum or a pizza place.

soothepoo Sun 26-May-02 23:10:30

There's only one place to go - Betty's!!!!! It's sooooooo wonderful - it's a coffee shop but that description doesn't really do it justice. They serve the most scrummy cakes and coffee and cakes and tea and lunches and snacks and cakes...... oooh I love it! Luckily I don't live anywhere near York otherwise I'd be the size of a house but equally luckily we do have friends there !
You might have to queue to get in, 'cos I'm not the only person who likes it!

elwar Mon 27-May-02 10:29:51

Pizza Hut would probably be your best bet (one on Parliament Street (near the fountain) & one opposite M&S round the corner), or else there are loads of nice little tea rooms & cafes dotted around (sorry I'm not a Betty's fan - don't like to re-mortgage my house to buy a scone ) Hope you all enjoy my lovely city!

Tetley Mon 27-May-02 11:14:34

We found a lovely Italian place near the river (a bit of a change from Pizza Hut - and still very child friendly). I don't know what it's called, but if you find York Dungeons (Clifford St, I think) go down from there towards the river and it's on the right hand side - about 10 yds from the Dungeons. They do a lunchtime special of pizza or pasta plus a glass of wine for £5! Can't go wrong for that!

elwar Mon 27-May-02 11:32:37