Talk

Advanced search

Should I wait for a last minute deal?

(10 Posts)
starryhatts Thu 19-May-16 19:21:49

We have spent our holiday £££ on skiing later in the year, but work has been awful and we really want to go away for a beach holiday for cheap fishbowl cocktails and to read trashy books in the sunshine. Not bothered about where.

As a result, budget is not huge. If we could get somewhere self catering for £300 pp inc. flights, that would be a dream, but realise thats a tall order in the school holidays. Unfortunately I am a teacher so no flexibility in this.

Have usually booked far in advance but have been told by a few people that in our circs we may as well wait for a 'last minute deal'.

When should we do this? How do you book one? Any site recommendations? I went in and asked Thomas Cook but they told me to book now as it gets more expensive last minute. confused

FoolMe Thu 19-May-16 19:23:33

No advice but watching with interest! I want to go away for 3 nights with a friend somewhere hot and we're looking at £500+

sidsgranny Thu 19-May-16 19:24:02

I wouldn't touch Thomas Cook with a barge poll!

I'm looking at booking something for August and Monarch is coming up with some really good prices compared to say Thomson. Same hotel at the same time is a good few hundred pounds cheaper.

BarbaraofSeville Fri 20-May-16 09:29:52

They were talking about holidays on BBC breakfast this morning and mentioned Portugal (possibly Abulfera not Algarve? - Sorry I don't know Portugal at all but they were saying don't go to the main resorts, but somewhere less popular, Fuengirola in Spain was also mentioned as being a bit cheaper - I've been there and it's nice enough, you tend to get Spanish holidaymakers as well as Brits but it's not as Blackpool in the sun-like as Torremolinos and Benalmadena.

Maybe an apartment and separate flights would be cheaper than a package but don't know really. If you can manage on hand luggage only, that saves a fair bit.