Journeys involving more than one flight

(23 Posts)
anyquestions1 Mon 11-Jan-16 22:27:11

I have no experience of making journeys that involve connecting flights, so would welcome advice from more experienced travelers. If a website such as Skyscanner comes up with journeys involving connecting flights, is that a reliable indicator that in the normal course of things you will comfortably have enough time to make the connection? Or will they happily sell you flights with very tight connection times? If you're a frequent flyer, do you have a rule of thumb as to what is a "comfortable" connection time? What are your rights if you miss your second flight due to your first flight being late? If you check in luggage, does that go straight through to the end destination or do you have to pick it up at the middle airport and check it in again? TIA

JarethTheGoblinKing Mon 11-Jan-16 22:29:54

Not necessarily, make sure you've got a decent amount of time for transfers yourself. I'd say absolute minimum of 1 hour between flight times (I had a 45 min one know, and made the connection by the skin of my teeth).

No idea about rights or luggage though

SpuriouserAndSpuriouser Mon 11-Jan-16 22:31:48

The time between flights will depend on the airport, and I have no experience of skyscanner so I can't answer that question. However I have previously missed flights because the first flight was delayed, and the airline has arranged a new flight and accommodation/food etc. if necessary. In my experience luggage is checked in at the start and goes straight through until the end, you don't have to pick it up at the middle airport.

KP86 Mon 11-Jan-16 22:32:05

If it's the same airline and it's booked as one trip, then even if you do miss your connection they will put you on next available. This happened to me recently. Transit was 2/3hr but we were delayed 5hr so no chance of catching original connection.