Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Travelling with a 4 MO and breastfeeding- tips and tricks

(11 Posts)
Bubble00 Wed 14-Oct-15 21:14:42

..k.. I'm new to parenting and booked Ryanair flights over christmas (2hr 30). Am I insane?..... I only breastfeed ATM, What should I take? What should I do?? Tips and Tricks are welcome.
Should I start using a bottle in advance? Dummy? Buy ear plugs and a round of drinks for nearby passengers?

Luckystar1 Wed 14-Oct-15 21:24:39

I flew with DS when he was 3 months, he has since been on 12 flights in his 11 months on the planet. They have all been fine. Don't panic!

Just take your boobs, easy peasy! Feed on the way up and on the way down for baby's ears. Aside from that, enjoy your trip!

goodbyeyellowbrickroad Wed 14-Oct-15 21:26:57

Flying with a 4 month old will be fine. Aim to feed them on take off and landing as that'll help with the pressure in their ears. Take more nappies than you think you need and a change of clothes for both of you in case of leaky nappies. Remember to pick up water for you once you get through security - breastfeeding always made me very thirsty and even more so in a dry plane cabin.

Have a good trip!

Mumoftwoyoungkids Wed 14-Oct-15 21:31:57

Buy some good breastfeeding tops. ("Boob" makes some good ones with a lift up able panelly thing.) Don't forget your breasts. Feed on the way up and the way down. Try not to look too smug when watching other parents having to taste baby milk / wash up bottles / worry about running out if delayed. Pack lots of nappies in your hand luggage.

We went on a 4 hour flight when ds was 4 months. It was by far the easiest flight we went on with him. (Also flew when he was 10 months, 12 months, 20 months and 26 months so far.) I gave him full milky access and he thought it was his birthday!

Joopy Wed 14-Oct-15 21:33:04

It'll be fine. I've done similar flights and people are very kind when you have a tiny baby.

mrsmortis Fri 16-Oct-15 12:19:30